Saturday, February 18, 2012

Belated Valentines




Since I had to work last Tuesday.... Derek and I went out last night for Valentine’s Day.
He surprised me of course.
We went to Thai Siam’s for dinner because I love that place. Best crabs in a blanket ever! Then we went to see a play called "Les Belles Soeurs", which means "the beautiful sisters" in English. It was a really entertaining show. I loved it. I think Derek might have been dying a bit through the second half. It was rather long and quite girly. The actresses were amazing though. I haven’t actually been to many plays and I forget how intense they are.


After that Derek had planned to go ice skating at the Gallivan Center but it was so cold we decided against it. So we went to Gormandies The Bakery instead. My fave place ever! Tash and I used to go there like every week when we lived in Salt Lake. It's almost exactly like the bakeries in Paris that I loved so much. I got the strawberry ring like I always get, and Derek just stared at all the pastries unable to make such a huge decision.
Then we went home to our cute, new place and ate our scrumptious desserts pretending to be in Paris.
It was a lovely evening.
By the way... this is our fifth V-day together. Crazy how time flies! Were kind of sad that we are starting to forget what we did for the others. Thank goodness for blogging.



This is not our V-Day pic but of course we totally suck and did not get any pictures. 

Oh wait... We did get a couple...

These are the daffodils that Der got me. 

This is at Thai Siam's.... the best crabs in a blanket ever!!



Wednesday, February 8, 2012

Just Countin' the Days...



Finally some exciting news to tell....


 First, I have recently started interning with the events department of Thanksgiving Point. It is super fun! I love the girls I work with and I love planning the events.

Second, Derek and I have finally found our new place. It is right downtown. You can actually see Trolley Square from our building and we can walk to Liberty Park! Yay!
Did I mention that I am FREAKING OUT, excited to move!! It's seriously all I think about.

Here are some of the things I'm super excited to do when we move in.....

Cover this chair - I have had it forever and have been meaning to re-upholster it. I have finally begun. It has arms as well. Derek is sanding them. I will post later about the final product.



Make this map




Buy furniture - I love shopping thrifty!

Hang lots of plants - My mom always had lots of plants and I miss it. Plus we have this awesome window in our living room that is perfect for plants.

Start listening to my awesome record player that Der got me for Christmas.


Have Derek make this bed for Tundra.


Oh, did I forget to mention that we are getting our puppy soon. And his name is Tundra!

                                       I'm so excited I could die! Don't worry, he's just sleeping.

Third, We are taking a trip to Vegas on Feb. 24th to pick up Tundra. We're going to make a fun little trip out of it and stay the weekend with some friends.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

The Latest Listenings

So I've been feeling really into chicks lately.... I'm not ashamed.


Tilly and the Wall
Couldn't get the actual video to work, but I thought this was cute.

This one too....  http://youtu.be/E7HjBr_QMXI


The Cults -

The Weepies -


Mates of State -



This one too.....  http://youtu.be/TeVfiJ-ea6Y


Here's a non girly one for ya....

Black keys, El Camino -


Oh my gosh! Best video ever!


Saturday, December 31, 2011

To be a kid again


Sometimes I just feel like life is this constant battle of trying to keep yourself young. Whether it’s how you look, how often you find yourself laughing at nothing, how much you still enjoy the little things, or how winded you get doing things you used to do. Things often seemed so much better when you were ten years old. 
Well not this year!
This Christmas we spent a couple days up at my Uncle Sean's cabin in Big Bear. We all went sledding and had so much fun. No one seemed a day over ten.

 


That's dad



Kind of busted my knee on this one.
Oh this makes me laugh!!



Thursday, December 22, 2011

Red Rocks and Canyons



First I would like to say that, Moab is way better in the summer.

Having said that, besides the frigid weather, we had a great time. Thank you Derek for having the wonderful idea of staying a night in Moab on our way home from Concho.
We bundled up and walked the streets, had an all you can eat pizza buffet, and sat in the hot tub.
Mcgriddles in the morning and it's off to Arches. We went to Arches together a few years ago so it was kind of fun to relive. We also stopped by Canyon lands National Park, which we had not seen before. Fun, but nothing to get excited about.















Saturday, December 10, 2011

Concho


On spending Thanksgiving in Concho, Arizona.....

We drove about 10 hours, until we reached precisely the middle of nowhere.
It was actually colder and windier than Utah. Seriously, Arizona?? I thought you were supposed to be warm.
Spent time with grandparents. And their animals... Brandi is the beautiful dog below, that I could not stop taking pictures of.
We spent a lot of time in the pool and hot tub at my mom's hotel.
We drove to all the sites.... Petrified Forest, which you can basically see from the gift shop. The local Kmart. Gift shops, and more gift shops - I got a pair of moccasins, Yea!
Ate lots of Thanksgiving dinner and watch/slept through football.
Good times....




Seriously the coolest looking dog.

















Derek and I decided to leave one day early and stay in Moab for a night. We had fun checking out Arches again and saw Canyon Lands for the first time (I'll post pictures soon). We're finally starting to put a dent in our goal to see all of the National Parks.



Thursday, November 3, 2011

Decades of Obsession



Is it just me, or are there other people out there who find themselves dreaming about the past? Now I'm not meaning my past, but just the past in general, the past that I personally have never see. And will never see. Maybe that is precisely what the problem is, knowing that something so foreign and unique is so completely out of reach to me. We always want what we can't have, right? 

What I want is to live in each decade of the past. There are so many things from each time period that I find fascinating, and I just want to experience it. Yes I do realize that most of my obsession probably comes from movies and glorified ideas of what each decade was really about, but I still want to find out for myself. Just like our generation, I'm sure there was good and bad.

So my plan to overcome this obsession is to find ways to make my life more like the decades of the past. Of course I only plan to incorporate the wonderful things, considering that those are the things that began this whole fiasco. Not things like war and depression. It may not be very realistic, but it is my reality. I mean, truthfully, why do we continue to watch Pearl Harbor every time we see it on the guide? Not because we love watching people sink in ships, but because It's glamorous, romantic, and so very different from our simple lives. So until someone makes me a time machine, I will share with you each of my decade obsessions, and how I plan to incorporate them into my life on my new blog.